So now it’s the BRICS+.. But what does it all really mean?

Pryce, Vicky (2023) So now it’s the BRICS+.. But what does it all really mean? Birmingham City University, Centre for Brexit Studies Blog.

So now it’s the BRICS.pdf - Published Version

Download (137kB)


The BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) 15th summit in Johannesburg, which President Putin attended by video link , decided to expand by allowing 6 new members to join in January 2024- Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Saudi Arabia , Ethiopia and the UAE. More could be allowed in with a dozen other countries apparently having put their candidacy forward. We haven’t seen their agreed criteria on how to judge who is allowed to join and what the process for further expansion will be but apparently there is agreement on the process. But what is the point?

Item Type: Other
25 August 2023Published Online
Uncontrolled Keywords: Centre for Brexit Studies, CBS, Brexit, BCU, EU, European Union, UK, Birmingham City University, UK Government, UK politics
Subjects: CAH15 - social sciences > CAH15-03 - politics > CAH15-03-01 - politics
Divisions: Research, Innovation, Enterprise > Centre for Brexit Studies
Depositing User: Gemma Tonks
Date Deposited: 27 Oct 2023 13:31
Last Modified: 27 Oct 2023 13:31

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


In this section...