Keynote speakers for Annual Conference announced

Our Annual Conference returns on March 29, and we are delighted to tell you all about our keynote speakers for the event. Titled 'B-Day: Making a Success of Brexit', our conference, taking place at The RSA, is going to bring together voices from across the Brexit landscape to discuss everything from Theresa May's deal, manufacturing and the automotive industry, to British media and the impact of Brexit on young people.

Alongside our variety of guest panellists though, are our keynote speakers, who will be sharing their views and opinions around Brexit in insightful speeches throughout the day.

Let's meet them...



Sir Vince Cable Keynote Speaker – 4pm

Sir Vince Cable was born to a working class family in 1943. His father, Len, was a craftsman for Rowntree and his mother packed chocolates for Terry's. Vince read Natural Sciences and Economics at Cambridge University where he was President of the Union, followed by a PhD at Glasgow University.

In 1981 he joined the Social Democratic Party (now the Liberal Democrat Party) and has been a member ever since. He was first elected as the Member of Parliament for Twickenham in 1997 and as an MP has helped tens of thousands of local people. As Secretary of

State for Business, Innovation and Skills from 2010 to 2015 Vince created a distinctive Liberal Democrat vision for the economy.

This vision included a long-term industrial strategy, promotion of science and innovation, banking reform, the creation of the world's first-ever Green Investment Bank, support for young people through apprenticeships, and the promotion of socially responsible capitalism.

On 20th July, 2017 Vince Cable became the Leader of the Liberal Democrats. His top priorities are fighting to make sure the UK remains at the heart of the EU, increasing access to finance for small and medium-sized businesses, investing in high-quality public services.

He aims to build a mass movement, growing and diversifying the party membership, to help win elections and make our country more liberal and more democratic.



Sir Bernard Jenkin MP Keynote Speaker – 10am

Following a series of roles at Ford, 3i and Legal & General, Bernard was elected to Parliament in 1992.

He subsequently served as Shadow Secretary of State for Transport, Shadow Secretary of State for Defence, and as a Shadow Minister for Energy. Between 2006 and 2010, Bernard served as a member of the House of Commons Defence Select Committee.

From 2010-2015, Bernard chaired the House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee. In 2015, the remit of the Committee was expanded to also include constitutional affairs and it became the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee (PACAC). Bernard has chaired PACAC since 2015.

Bernard is a member of the Executive of the 1922 Committee of backbench Conservative MPs and is the author of a number of publications on the European Union, UK defence policy and Conservativism.



Professor Vernon Bogdanor CBE Keynote Speaker – 3.30pm

Vernon Bogdanor CBE is Professor of Government at the Institute of Contemporary British History, King's College, London. He was formerly, for many years Professor of Government at Oxford University. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, an Honorary Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Legal Studies, a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, and a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences.

He has been an adviser to a number of governments, including those of Albania, Czech Republic, Hungary, Kosovo, Israel, Mauritius. Slovakia and Trinidad. He is a frequent contributor to TV, radio and the press. In 2008, he was awarded the Sir Isaiah Berlin Award by the Political Studies Association for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies.

In 2009 he was made a Chevalier de la Legion d'Honneur by President Sarkozy. He is an Honorary Fellow of The Queen's College, Oxford, an Honorary D. Litt. of the University of Kent, and an Honorary Bencher of the Middle Temple. Our other guest speakers for our Annual Conference are:

John Mills, Vicky Pryce, Raymond Snoddy, David "Sideman" Whitely, Professor David Bailey, Dr Leslie Budd, Beverley Nielsen, Dr Elizabeth Norton, Tom Leeson, John Mair, Liz Gerard, Ian Henry, Joshua Hockley-Still, John Clancy and Yasmeen Zaman, as well as Centre for Brexit Studies Director Professor Alex de Ruyter and the Centre's academics.

Find out everything you need to know about our variety of Panel Discussions here.

Register for your FREE tickets for our Annual Conference here.